Letters  

 

Do you recall those mornings when you see me

Scribbling down on grocery receipts?

Or those times when I told you I was reading

But I would write on the side of the pages

Of a magazine,

Or a book?

You never really paid attention, did you?

 

Have you noticed how I looked?

How the sides of my lips curled,

How my eyes twitched,

Or how hard my grip on the pen was?

How deep my handwriting dug?

You were never interested, were you?

 

Now you sit by yourself, asking where you went wrong

How easily have I let you go

Or how simple my words had been

When I told you I have to move on

 

I hope you think about those times

When you didn’t pay attention and was never interested at all.

Leave a Reply

